December 25, 2012

  • I went out to Sawyer Camp Trail today.  For those of you who aren’t in Northern California, there was pretty much flooding yesterday.  I kept looking at weather.com and it was telling me that there would be pockets where there would be a let up in the rain.  And I’m quite glad I didn’t listen to any of it.

    Sawyer Camp Trail was definitely flooded at parts.  At about the 3 mile mark, there was enough water on the path that it was impossible to get around.  Fortunately, the water wasn’t very deep.  But past the 3.5 mile mark, it was flooded to the point where I saw some fluorescent orange cones so I turned around.  My 10 mile run became a 7 mile run today due to flooding.
    I could have run more, but along the run, I found Dominic at around the half mile mark.  Dominic is a runner who was running with a group that did track workouts on Tuesdays at Burlingame High School.  The group would do mile repeats, and I’d come in at about 6:00 to 6:05, and there’s Dominic doing 5:40′s.  He had his three children with him, so we actually ran a rather quick pace, which is why I didn’t really feel like adding on another 3 miles after getting back.
    When we got to the 3.5 mile marker, the kids decided it would be fun to play in the big massive pond-like puddle.  We probably averaged about 6:55 on the way out, and maybe 6:40 to 6:45 on the way back.  It was a bit faster than I would have preferred, but at least I have more confidence that I can pull off a 6:52 pace for an hour and a half.
    The kids were definitely really cute.  And it’s awesome to have a solid pacer on your run!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *